Post Falls, Idaho

I never really imagined that Post Falls might be the first waterfall that I visited in Idaho. There are a number of other falls in Idaho that look very impressive, but Post Falls came first. I guess one could argue whether Post Falls should be included on a list of waterfalls, and I definitely think it should be.

There is a dam that has been built above the falls, and as usual, this may detract from the beauty of the falls. But in late April, as the snow might be starting to melt, the roar of the river as it plunges 40 or so feet is intense! The flow is very high. Today, though, I could actually see the portions of the falls that had been untouched by man, at least not significantly, and this is what made me enjoy the falls even more. These geological features can get lost in such high flow rates, and can often make falls look rather boring.  This was not the case at Post Falls in mid-spring.

Directions:

  1. From I-90, take the exit that leads to N. Spokane St.  I can’t remember the exit number.
  2. Head south on N. Spokane St. for a very short distance from the exit to 4th Ave.
  3. Turn right onto 4th Ave and head all the way down to the end, where you’ll find a parking area on your left.
  4. From the parking area, follow the sounds of the river to the falls.

Accessibility: 10/10 (easy)
Height: 15′
Length of Hike: 0.4 miles round-trip

Post Falls in April 2011

Where in the World is Post Falls?

4 thoughts on “Post Falls, Idaho

Leave a comment